Selection 2020

Butter Quartet

Butter Quartet

The Butter Quartet consists of four musicians brought together during their studies at the Koninklijk Conservatorium Den Haag and their mutual love of historical performance practice of string quartet repertoire. The members are violinists Anna Jane Lester and Chloe Prendergast, violist Isabel Franenberg, and cellist Evan Buttar. They first formed as participants in a course at the Conservatorium with coach Rebecca Huber, but soon developed a passion and dynamic that extended beyond their studies. Their current repertoire is early Classical to the early Romantic, and they take a special interest in expressive historical string-playing techniques, such as rubato, bowings, portamento, etc. They have had coachings with renowned musicians and researchers such as Clive Brown and Kati Debretzeni as well as the Eybler, JACK, and Parker Quartets at the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity in Canada where they attended the Evolution of the String Quartet program.

In addition to early quartet repertoire, the Butter Quartet is interested in contemporary music, bringing the same spirit of discovery to newly-composed works for historically-setup instruments. In summer 2018 they premiered a piece written by Rachel Walker entitled Mycelia Whisper Lines, and look forward to continued collaborations with composers. Most recently, the Butter Quartet performed as finalists in the York Early Music International Young Artists Competition, where they were awarded the EEEmerging+ Prize. The Butter Quartet is a recipient of the Early Music America Summer Scholarship and a grant from the Adriana Jacoba Fonds.

The ensemble was selected to join the 2020 EEEMERGING+ programme.

Chloe Prendergast violin
Anne Jane Lester violin
Isabel  Franenberg viola
Evan  Buttar cello